• 4.8 (29)

SPYNS

Spyns is an active travel company based in Whistler (Canada) and Burgundy (France). Spyns offer tours for both riders and non-riders throughout Europe. We specialize in Tour de France tours to see the final stages and Paris finish. We also offer tours for private groups to Spain, Italy, and throughout France. Call/text 1.888.825.4720 for more information or email info@tdf-tours.com. Please mention Bike Tour Buzz when you do!
Company rating: 5 out of 5 with 29 reviews
SPYNS

International Bike Tour Operators

Website: www.tdf-tours.com

COMPANY DETAILS

Phone: 1.888.825.4720

Location: FRANCE SPAIN CANADA CANADA CANADA SPAIN SPAIN SPAIN

Price: Luxury

Spyns is an active travel company based in Whistler (Canada) and Burgundy (France). Spyns offer tours for both riders and non-riders throughout Europe. We specialize in Tour de France tours to see the final stages and Paris finish. We also offer tours for private groups to Spain, Italy, and throughout France. Call/text 1.888.825.4720 for more information or email info@tdf-tours.com. Please mention Bike Tour Buzz when you do!


USER REVIEWS

Average user rating from: 29 users

Overall rating
4.8 (29)
Guide Quality
4.9 (29)
Hotel / Accommodations
4.9 (29)
Food
4.7 (29)
Bike Quality
4.7 (7)
Value
4.8 (29)
Customer Service
4.9 (29)
Guide Quality
Hotel / Accommodation
Food
Bike Quality
Value
Customer Service

REVIEWED BY David Riggans on Sep 18, 2017

Fantastic Family TDF Trip in 2017

My family and I went on the 9 day Tour de France trip during the the 2017 summer and had a fantastic time. The cycling was incredible with well supported rides with excellent and friendly guides. There were fairly varied levels of fitness but Spyns was easily able to accommodate. I rented a bike from them which was adjusted according to the measurements on my bike at home and was very comfortable, shifted well and gave me no trouble whatsoever. While I was riding, my wife and 6 year old daughter went on beautiful hikes, toured one of the cities we were in and had a fun and adventuresome trip of their own. We got to all spend time together watching the pros ride past and in the mornings and evenings, so there was good family time as well. We met some fun and interesting people on the trip that we will likely continue to see in the future. Overall a very fun, well organized and reasonably priced trip that was perfect, even for a 6 year old!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Alps

Your Location

Martinez, Georgia

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Jennifer Stitt on Sep 17, 2017

Spyns 2017 Tour de France

What a fabulous tour! I took the 10-day tour and loved every minute of it. The tour guides, the hotels we stayed in, the viewing locations, the excursions, they were all worth the money I spent! It was my first TDF, so naturally, I was dazzled by it all, but the advance arrangements that are spent picking the best routes to travel to get the most out of every day and night were obvious. I parapented (paraglided), white water rafted and kayaked, cycled, hiked, ate, toured, cheered on every rider, and had the best time with my tripmates! Such wonderful leaders we had, they were so nice and helpful. Can't wait to do this again! :-)

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

New Hampshire

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY LABen on Aug 26, 2017

SPYNS TDF 2017

I purchased the 7 day Premiere TDF package as a surprise "B" day gift for Ben. Ryan and his staff were fantastic to work with and Ryan scheduled a few "B" day surprises along the way for Ben. Merci! The day we arrived at the meeting point, the two of us met up with a great group of riders and non riders. Ryan went out of his way to make sure everyone was taken care of. He and his staff were very attentive the entire trip. The guides were friendly, fun, very informative and patient when necessary! Rider abilities varied and the guides were able to accommodate all riders. C'est Magnifique! The food was great, with a lot of different options and plenty of it. The wine, champagne and beer truly was unlimited just as Ryan promised. NO shortage of water for the rides! As riders, the shuttle vans were always within minutes away if you needed them. THANK YOU RYAN for saving me the first day!!! The accommodations were as promised and surrounded by beautiful views! The trip was very well organized, with a fast paced schedule. Now... about the TDF!!! What can we say... it was EVERYTHING we had imagined and so much more. The locations Ryan had arranged for each days viewing (Stage, start, Stage finish, time trial, etc.) allowed us to see the tour riders pass us within an arms reach! And, what fun it was to watch the Caravans pass through before the tour riders! Being able to ride the stages prior to the pros was surreal. The roads had been closed to traffic and the campers/fans were lined up roadside, cheering/ringing bells and screaming "ALLEZ ALLEZ ALLEZ"! BTW, Ryan and his staff provided lots of food after each ride with open bar, BBQ's, tv's, music and the great viewing areas. We met so many great people (& kids). We left with new friends and great memories. Will we sign up again? Aboslutlely. We can't wait to travel with Ryan and his staff in the future. Lori Ann & Ben

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Florida

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.7
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Jennifer on Jul 20, 2017

2016 9-Day TdF Tour

This review is long overdue, but our 2016 TdF trip with Spyns was absolutely one of the highlights of our travel lives! My husband and I loved every minute. The bike rides were well guided and well supported (I was happy to ride down some of the descents in the van!) TdF stage viewing areas were incredible - much closer to the race than I would have ever expected. The food was great, the drinks were plentiful, and the Spyns personnel were delightful. I truly can't imagine a better trip. We hope to travel with Spyns again sometime soon!!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Oklahoma City

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Juan Vazquez on Jan 16, 2017

TDF 2016

I have traveled quite a bit and have had the privilege to see many things and meet lots of new people but I can say with confidence that I have seldom met a group of individuals with more dedication and passion for they're job that the Spyns group. It all starts at the top with Mr. King who from the very beginning did everything in his power (and more) to help me before, during and after the trip in order to make sure our trip exceeded our expectations. I booked a 5-Day Tour de France trip for myself and my Father who has been a cyclist and fan of the sport for as long as I can remember. I think I can summarize the experience on one fact, my father is not an emotional person but found himself overcome with emotion on multiple occasions during our five day trip. It happened during the rides and in the viewing areas. He simply couldn't believe he finally was getting to experience this in his life and it was all thanks to a team that ensured everything ran smoothly and ensured we were in the best position to enjoy everything the tour has to offer. The food was good and the accommodations were great as well but what really stole the show were the viewing areas meticulously set up by the team with refreshments, food and TVs and the rides along the mountains. I can still and I think always will remember that feeling during the first ride as I couldn't help but laugh and shout in excitement as I realized where I was and that I was riding part of the day's race in a very good bike with excellent company. It was simply liberating. Finally the Eiffel Tower dinner was WAAAAY more than what me or my father expected, we were blown away. So if you want to experience the Tour the France the right way look bo further. They made my Dad's dream come true and am forever grateful for that.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Texas

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Joanna Woodyard on Jan 16, 2017

SPYNS TOUR DE FRANCE 2016

I have twice had the privilege of experiencing the Tour de France with Spyns Tours and, for multiple reasons, can offer my strongest recommendation to anyone considering participating. The riding was fantastic. Every day I was challenged and, with the support of the guides, along with encouragement from other participants, I accomplished far more than I thought I was capable. Highlights included pushing past exhaustion to reach the top of Mt. Ventoux, experiencing the comradery of summiting Alpe d’Huez along with thousands of other riders on the penultimate stage of the TDF, and losing myself in the tranquility of alpine meadows as I rode to the top of the Glandon. Those who truly love to cycle, and especially to climb, will not be disappointed. The TDF viewing opportunities were unreal. I have viewed stages with and without the support from Spyns and the two experiences are incomparable. With the former, we arrived on our bikes with no place to change (and only the clothes we could carry in our pockets), limited access to amenities, minimal options for food, no real idea where we should be for the best viewing opportunities, and hours to wait in either the cold or the heat for the riders to come by. With Spyns we arrived to find guides waiting with our day bags, a place to change and freshen up (sometimes even shower!), gourmet food, and a spot to stay warm and dry. Most significantly, with Spyns, we had better access to viewing locations than the people who camped out for days were watching from! It was absolutely incredible, and humbling, to stand within arm’s reach of the riders as they battled their way up the hills I had climbed only a few hours before. The amenities arranged by Spyns elevate the tour from “a lot of work on a bike” to a true vacation. I have vivid memories of dining in the courtyard of a chateau in Provence, watching the moonrise from the balcony of our Alpine chalet, and slipping into a pool after a hot ride back to our hotel. While ensuring the high nutritional demand of intense cycling is met, the meals also always upheld the superior reputation of French cuisine. In addition, the generosity of Spyns towards its clients was always reflected in the readily available beverages – particularly the wine! Perhaps what most impressed me about Ryan and his guides was their ability to anticipate, and respond to, the needs of their clients long before anyone else recognized that something was wanted. Cycling into Gap, we were offered an optional extension to the day’s ride before it even occurred to me that I was definitely ready for more time on the bike. One evening, at the end of a long day of riding and stage viewing, dinner was served at the viewing location, instead of at the restaurant were supposed to travel to, and provided well before the time set in our schedule – ensuring that we were well fed and comfortable long before we became too tired and hungry to enjoy ourselves. The Spyns team seems to constantly be evaluating what is going on with the clients and adjusting their plans accordingly. I suspect that pulling off some of these arrangements required minor miracles but the guides were so pleasant they made is seem effortless. It is difficult to express what an incredible experience I had with Spyns and I do not think the preceding words do adequate justice to the memories I recollect every day with pleasure and gratitude.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Vancouver

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Kristi Johnson on Nov 30, 2016

Family Tour de France Tour

My husband, daughter and I had a wonderful time on our Spyns Tour de France trip. Our daughter was 6 at the time and this trip fit our family perfectly - the activities worked for all three of us! Ryan is amazing - he answered all my pre-trip questions (and there were a lot!) quickly and expertly and was there to take care of all of us during the tour (including keeping Diet Cokes stocked for us once he found out that was our favorite). I can't say enough about how great the TDF viewing locations were - all had bathrooms and refreshments and were right in the middle of the action. Our favorite was the shepherd's hut on the slopes of Tourmalet! The non-Tour activities were excellent, as well - including canyoning in the Pyrenees, a day trip to St. Emilion and a tour of Chartres Cathedral. And, the cost was very reasonable compared to our other international travels. Exceptional experience from the first contact I had with Spyns through the trip itself. We hope to enjoy another Spyns tour soon!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Pyrenees

Your Location

Alabama

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Joanna Woodyard on Nov 30, 2016

Spyns TDF Trip Review

I have twice had the privilege of experiencing the Tour de France with Spyns Tours and, for multiple reasons, can offer my strongest recommendation to anyone considering participating. The riding was fantastic. Every day I was challenged and, with the support of the guides, along with encouragement from other participants, I accomplished far more than I thought I was capable. Highlights included pushing past exhaustion to reach the top of Mt. Ventoux, experiencing the comradery of summiting Alpe d’Huez along with thousands of other riders on the penultimate stage of the TDF, and losing myself in the tranquility of alpine meadows as I rode to the top of the Glandon. Those who truly love to cycle, and especially to climb, will not be disappointed. The TDF viewing opportunities were unreal. I have viewed stages with and without the support from Spyns and the two experiences are incomparable. With the former, we arrived on our bikes with no place to change (and only the clothes we could carry in our pockets), limited access to amenities, minimal options for food, no real idea where we should be for the best viewing opportunities, and hours to wait in either the cold or the heat for the riders to come by. With Spyns we arrived to find guides waiting with our day bags, a place to change and freshen up (sometimes even shower!), gourmet food, and a spot to stay warm or dry. Most significantly, with Spyns, we had better access to viewing locations that were than the people who camped out for days were watching from! It was absolutely incredible, and humbling, to stand within arm’s reach of the riders as they battled their way up the hills I had climbed only a few hours before. The amenities arranged by Spyns elevate the tour from “a lot of work on a bike” to a true vacation. I have vivid memories of dining in the courtyard of a chateau in Provence, watching the moonrise from the balcony of our Alpine chalet, and slipping into a pool after a hot ride back to our hotel. While ensuring the high nutritional demand of intense cycling is met, the meals also always upheld the superior reputation of French cuisine. In addition, the generosity of Spyns towards its clients was always reflected in the readily available beverages – particularly the wine! Perhaps what most impressed me about Ryan and his guides was their ability to anticipate, and respond to, the needs of their clients long before anyone else recognized that something was wanted. Cycling into Gap, we were offered an optional extension to the day’s ride before it even occurred to me that I was definitely ready for more time on the bike. One evening, at the end of a long day of riding and stage viewing, dinner was served at the viewing location, instead of at the restaurant were supposed to travel to, and provided well before the time set in our schedule – ensuring that we were well fed and comfortable long before we became too tired and hungry to enjoy ourselves. The Spyns team seems to constantly be evaluating what is going on with the clients and adjusting their plans accordingly. I suspect that pulling off some of these arrangements required minor miracles but the guides were so pleasant they made is seem effortless. It is difficult to express what an incredible experience I had with Spyns and I do not think the preceding words do adequate justice to the memories I recollect every day with pleasure and gratitude.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Vancouver

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Butch Wabby on Nov 25, 2016

9-DAY TOUR DE FRANCE TOUR 2016

My wife and I took the 9 day 2016 tour and had a wonderful time. As an avid rider I enjoyed each of the rides (Alp D'Huez, Glandon, Ventoux and Bettex), the bikes were excellent as were the guides and support! My wife (not a rider) enjoyed spending time with other non-riders rafting, touring and the unforgettable parapenting from the Alps!! Each of the viewing stands were OUTSTANDING! The Paris finish was something we will always remember! Thanks Ryan !

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Tennessee

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Juan Vazquez on Nov 22, 2016

SPYNS TOUR DE FRANCE 2016

I have traveled quite a bit and have had the privilege to see many things and meet lots of new people but I can say with confidence that I have seldom met a group of individuals with more dedication and passion for they're job that the Spyns group. It all starts at the top with Mr. King who from the very beginning did everything in his power (and more) to help me before, during and after the trip in order to make sure our trip exceeded our expectations. I booked a 5-Day Tour de France trip for myself and my Father who has been a cyclist and fan of the sport for as long as I can remember. I think I can summarize the experience on one fact, my father is not an emotional person but found himself overcome with emotion on multiple occasions during our five day trip. It happened during the rides and in the viewing areas. He simply couldn't believe he finally was getting to experience this in his life and it was all thanks to a team that ensured everything ran smoothly and ensured we were in the best position to enjoy everything the tour has to offer. The food was good and the accommodations were great as well but what really stole the show were the viewing areas meticulously set up by the team with refreshments, food and TVs and the rides along the mountains. I can still and I think always will remember that feeling during the first ride as I couldn't help but laugh and shout in excitement as I realized where I was and that I was riding part of the day's race on a very good bike with excellent company. It was simply liberating. Finally the Eiffel Tower dinner was WAAAAY more than what me or my father expected, we were blown away. So if you want to experience the Tour the France the right way look no further. They made my dad's dream come true and am forever grateful for that.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Texas

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Linda Sue on Jul 22, 2016

Excellent TDF Tour

(Resubmitted as previous review missing ratings). My husband and I traveled with Spyns to watch the Tour de France and had a spectacular time. I was most impressed with Ryan and his crew's ability to maneuver around the chaos inherent in the created by the Tour. Ryan got us up a mountain roads that had already been closed to vehicles, had an elaborately catered picnic lunch for the group along the race route in the Pyrenees (complete with cold kegs of beer and a large screen television to keep an eye on the race), and somehow managed to create the perfect party atmosphere at the swanky hotel we were staying at as we watched the last leg of the Tour ride through Paris. Ryan was professional, hilarious, and attentive. There is no way we could have coordinated this trip on our own, and I can't wait to travel with Spyns again.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

New York NY

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Carl Groch on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns Tour de France Paris Tour

I purchased a Spyns Tour de France Final Weekend Tour package for two. Included in the package was a room at the Westin Hotel for two nights, breakfast at the hotel for two mornings, a cooking class (we did not attend), a boat ride, a fat tire cycling tour of central Paris and two grandstand seats at the finish line of the 100th Tour de France. All aspects of the tour lived up to our expectations except the grandstand seats. As far as I am concerned the money paid for the grandstand seats was stolen from us and Spyns is at least partially responsible. The description in their brochure and on-line of the seating arrangement and the services provided was misleading to say the least. In fact, the grand stand was not the luxury seating promised, just the opposite. Seats were too small, no leg room, aisles too small, viewing angles too shallow (we could not see the racers), one portable outhouse for more than 250 people and a surly Tour de France officials who told me I should be honored to be at the Tour de France and that I had no right to complain about the grandstand design or the lack of toilets. ------------- Response to Carl Groch Review from SPYNS: I am writing to apologize Mr. Groch for your poor experience with the Tour de France's Paris grandstands. I take full responsibility for any and all problems associated with your Spyns tour. Unfortunately, my recent attempts to contact you have gone unanswered so I am responding via this website. This is the first time we have had a client complain about their Paris grandstand seats so please contact me directly (1.888.825.4720 or ryan@spyns.com). I would appreciate your input as to whether we should continue offering them as part of our Tour de France finish trips and, if yes, how we should properly advertise grandstand seats. Reading between the lines, it would appear you have taken issue with the TDF's organizers, namely for having too few bathrooms on race day, rather than with our company. Moreover, when we spoke at breakfast on the last day of the tour, you seemed generally happy and relaxed so as you can imagine your review took me by surprise. If you choose to travel with us again, please feel free to approach me during the tour or at any time after your trip to discuss such problems so I can take appropriate action, including a prompt refund. I do hope to hear from you soon. Sincerely, Ryan King President/Owner

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Paris, France

Your Location

United States

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
2.7
Guide Quality
1.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
1.0
Customer Service
1.0

REVIEWED BY Rob and Rose on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns is a Fun Group to Tour With

Our experience with Spyns Tours was first rate. For riders with spouses who aren't so into cycling, Spyns provides excellent non-ride options. There were winery tours, canyoneering options and more. Non-riders were better cared for than with many other tour providers. Highlights from our tour included being serenaded over dinner in Montory, France. Rode up the Col de Marie-Blanque and watched the Tour peloton ride by. Ryan was there with beverages and good cheer. I'll always remember having a few adult beverages with tour leaders in Bordeaux. Gorgeous city that one. Keith was a neat guy, as were all the guides. Steer clear of the Laphroig scotch, though. If you want non-ride options for significant others on a bike tour, Spyns is a good choice. Ryan King puts the highest priority on customer service and satisfaction. And he's a fun guy. His French impersonation was priceless!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France, Pyrenees, Bordeaux to Paris

Your Location

Juneau, Alaska

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.7
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
4.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Petra on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns TDF

I went on the full week tour with Sypns and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Every aspect was a once in a life time opportunity. Everything was fully catered, well organised and the best quality. The Spyns team are friendly, hard-working and very professional. The tour itself was the perfect blend of cycling the amazing TdF course, viewing strategic parts of the race and seeing cycling's elite (so exciting!) viewing the amazing French countryside and experiencing the French hospitality and culture. I found the whole experience excellent value for the price. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

TdF 2013, France

Your Location

Brisbane, Australia

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Joyce Evans on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns Tour de France

(Resubmitted as previous review didn't have ***** stars). I had a fantastic time, I haven't done a lot of traveling but this tour exceeded my expectation in every way. Accommodation was great, we were always well catered. There was lots to do and always a choose between activities on offer each day. It was a great balance between watching parts of the Tour de France, actually riding sections and sight seeing Paris and the French countryside. I highly recommend it and would love to do it all again.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Brisbane, Australia

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.7
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Elizabeth Haselkorn on Jul 22, 2016

PERFECTION: SPYNS TOURS BORDEAUX

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful, five-day, private bike trip through Bordeaux with SPYNS. While the focus of Spyns has shifted to specialty trips such as Tour de France and the Running of the Bulls in Pamplona, Ryan's extensive experience organizing and leading bike tours came through for us in spades. Every detail, from the initial airport pick-up through to our departure transfer, was taken care of. As we planned the trip, I spoke with Ryan about the kind of trip we wanted, the level of riding we wanted to do, and the price range we had allocated. He took care of everything! He met our flight and had sandwiches, drinks and treats for us for the short ride to our hotel. Check-in was already taken care of so we could just head right up to our beautiful suite. It's these small details that differentiate SPYNS from other companies. The rest of the trip followed with the same careful attention. Being connected to local vendors and having so much experience enables SPYNS to arrange specialty outings that make the entire experience unique. From the private city tour, to the amazing lunch at a countryside chateau, to wine tastings, meals and massages, we never had to worry about a thing and our expectations were always met or exceeded. With SPYNS there to handle everything, we could truly relax, bike as much or as little as we wanted, and just enjoy the beauty of the experience. I researched many companies, including ones with which we had traveled in the past, but no one could match the customization and pricing that SPYNS offered. Thank you, thank you to Ryan and the SPYNS team for making our 30th wedding anniversary trip so memorable.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Bordeaux

Your Location

Washington DC

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY MaryKay Hanigan on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns Exceeded Our Expectations!

My husband and I made the brilliant decision to book the Spyns 7-Day Pyrenees to Paris TDF tour in 2014. We had a hard time finding the right tour for us – we wanted a mix of riding and site seeing. This tour offered a healthy dose of both. It was the first time we had ever booked a tour so to be honest; we weren’t sure what we were getting into. We had an amazing time with Ryan and his wonderful crew and the trip ended up exceeding our expectations! Everything was executed flawlessly from the smooth transportation to the great meals to the exciting stage viewings. We didn’t have to worry about a thing. The time spent in Pierrefitte, a charming mountain town, was particularly memorable. My husband still recounts his ride on Hautacam. We stayed at B&B nestled at the foot of the mountains and the beauty was breathtaking. I’d recommend a Spyns tour to anyone who’s looking for a mix of great riding, relaxing, having fun and taking in the local culture.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Pyrenees to Paris

Your Location

Chicago, IL

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Lori Stanton on Jul 22, 2016

SPYNS 2015 Tour de France 9 Day Tour

This was our first tour with Spyns as well as our first visit to Europe. Ryan and his team were wonderful - they answered all our questions and provided an experience that we will never forget. Kevin, another of our guides, was phenomenal anticipating our needs and going above and beyond to make sure everything was right. It is difficult to say what my favorite part of the tour was because each phase offered something new and exciting. Our 9 day group really got along and we soon became like family. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Alps-Paris, France

Your Location

Tampa Florida

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Paul Violand on Jul 22, 2016

Alps France TDF Tour

Very client oriented. The communication before the event and during the event was well organized, clear and informative. The biking portion exceeded my expectations. And the non biking events were great too. I really enjoyed the flexibility of this tour. If I didnt want to ride, I could do some other event that was a blast. Ryan can juggle like no one I have seen before. This is my first bike riding tour. I knew that doing a ride associated with the Tour de France could be complicated. But it went well for me. The tour was a great value for me. You get great meals, beer, etc ALL the time. Chef Ivan was a hoot and now a friend. You come on this trip and will meet life long friends. And how cool is that! I came as a single on this tour and would recommend to anyone who might be reticent to travel solo to do so. Quite simply, I look forward to doing this again.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Austin, Texas

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Paul Violand on Jul 22, 2016

Alps France TDF Tour

Very client oriented. The communication before the event and during the event was well organized, clear and informative. The biking portion exceeded my expectations. And the non biking events were great too. I really enjoyed the flexibility of this tour. If I didnt want to ride, I could do some other event that was a blast. Ryan can juggle like no one I have seen before. This is my first bike riding tour. I knew that doing a ride associated with the Tour de France could be complicated. But it went well for me. The tour was a great value for me. You get great meals, beer, etc ALL the time. Chef Ivan was a hoot and now a friend. You come on this trip and will meet life long friends. And how cool is that! I came as a single on this tour and would recommend to anyone who might be reticent to travel solo to do so. Quite simply, I look forward to doing this again.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Austin, Texas

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Laura Sebastiani on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns NAILED it! 2015 TDF - 5 Day Tour

We participated in the 2015 TDF 5-day tour. Two adults and two teenage sons. The entire purpose of this trip was to see the tour and ride a few stages and SPYNS NAILED IT! Viewing locations exceeded our expectations by a long shot and really made this trip excellent. We felt like we were right in the action and we had a "home base" that provided amenities we needed for long, sometimes hot, sometimes rainy days (food, drinks, shelter, restrooms etc.). Transportation to/from event venues was prompt, comfortable and reliable. Lodging ranged from good to excellent - all places were clean, adequately supplied and well-located. The guides were excellent and every last one of them worked very hard, all the while seeming to be happy and enjoying what they were doing. They were able to keep us on schedule and well cared while allowing for independence, rather than treating us like a herd of school kids on a class field trip. The TDF is a very dynamic event and Ryan had told us ahead of time that we needed to be ready for unexpected and last minute schedule changes (like road closures). This didn't happen much on our tour, but Ryan and team were adept at moving to "Plan B" on the fly. Did everything go according to plan? No. But what really mattered did. Any issues that came up were handled promptly and professionally. It was very important to the Spyns team that we enjoyed our experience and they worked hard to that end. My husband was the only rider in our group and he found the bikes and equipment to be better than he was expecting - equipped with speedometers and odometers and Spyns provided ample water and energy bars. The non-rider activities we participated in (hikes, walks, zip lining, wine-tastings...) were easily accessible and fun. We were pleasantly surprised to find other teenagers on the trip. The kids got along well and having others around sure increased the fun factor for our sons. The food was fine. No one went hungry (or thirsty), and while I can't say it was the best culinary experience of my lifetime, food was not the reason for this trip. Like I said, we didn't go hungry. Dinner at the Eiffel Tower on the last night was delicious and a nice way to end the tour. The other participants on the tour were nice, easy to talk to and interesting. We enjoyed meeting them, getting to know them and hearing their stories. We are glad we chose Spyns and recommend them to others. When the time comes for our next tour, we will book with Spyns again. We like them and we trust them.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Alps to Paris

Your Location

San Francisco, CA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.5
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
3.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY China Frazier on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns Tour de France 2015 French Alps

My partner and I took the 7 day SPYNS Tour de France to view the last 4 stages of the race for 2015. Partner rides and I don't so we took the ride-non ride tour which was perfect. The Alps are gorgeous in late July. The riders got to ride the same course as the professionals which was not easy but very well supported by SPYNS staff. Who knows what might happen in those mountains! Non-riders like me had an opportunity to participate in a series of magnificent activities like white water rafting, cooking class in a quaint village restaurant taught by all French owners (and we ate every delicious bite at a wonderful table set just for us) plus hiking some of the most beautiful terrain imaginable. We had private chefs and waiters in our own restaurant with delicious local cuisine, wine and beer flowing always, 3 amazing private venues for easy viewing of the Tour as it passed with BBQ and lots of delicacies served plus the grand finale in Paris. We were housed at the Westin, Paris which was incredible. Our suite looked over the main course for the Tour Finale. Ryan, owner of Spyns, had two Suites set up al;so looking over the boulevard with food and wine flowing and it was grand. I would highly recommend this trip to any and everyone. It was reasonably priced, lots of lovely people mainly professional and it was incredible to see our own riders hit those Alps and survive. Great fun, great food, great people, great adventure. Ryan has a real skill for choosing support staff that made our trip and all details perfect! You should be here!! Areas for improvement. Getting off of the overnight bus and onto the bicycle was hard at 7:30AM. A stop at the hotel firs to change and wash up would have been nice.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

French Alps

Your Location

Las Vegas, Nevada

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Jim Nestor on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns 2015 TDF Tour

My wife and I recently returned from the 5 day Alps to Paris tour with Spyns and I would strongly recommend this firm to anyone looking for a TDF tour. Every aspect was a once in a life time opportunity from experiencing a TDF stage on Alpe D'Huez to the flat tire ride through Paris. The Spyns staff are well organized, friendly, hard-working and the accommodations were first rate. The whole experience was exactly as advertised and provided memories and experiences I will never forget.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Alps to Paris

Your Location

Boston, MA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Allison Kalmakoff on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns TdF 2014 Ride with the Best!

This was our first tour with Spyns and our first bike tour of any kind. We booked last minute (fortunately for us Spyns could arrange it so we could squeeze in) and never looked back. From the moment Ryan greeted us at the train station (with lots of water, fruit and delicious croissants) we knew we made the right decision to travel with Spyns. I have never laughed so hard or smiled so much that my cheeks actually hurt. It was truly a trip of a lifetime. Let me break it down for you. Before we even left home we received a very well-detailed trip itinerary. Even if it changed a little here or there during the trip it was still nice to have the details. (I am usually the organizer on all of our trips so it took me a few minutes to get my head around the idea that I wasn't going to have to organize a thing...Once I had that figured out, I was golden.) Ryan and his team know how to organize and know how to show the travelers a phenomenal time. I am an extremely picky person and like things the way I like them and happily, Ryan and his team feel the same way. The group was not left wanting a thing. Every meal was delicious, drinks were plentiful wine and beer and water and pop. Many of our meals were enjoyed in the pleasure of quaint venues. We experienced a meal after one of the Tour stages at the Hautacam (where PS we walked down the mountain beside the TdF riders as they were riding down - fab photo opps)... we sat outside as a group on the terrace and ate beautiful food right from the farm adjacent to the table. It was farm-fresh chicken, veggies... all foods right from within the vicinity. Farm-fresh food coupled with fantastic new friends, a French band and delicious wine - it was an amazing night. That being said, all of the nights were like that. Settings were always out of this world. Food was delicious. Often we spent the evening overlooking mountains and valleys. Conversations were always engaging. I look back with the utmost amount of fondness. The riding...My husband and I enjoy an active life with our kiddies. We enjoy many sports and workout regularly. However, as much as we enjoy cycling, we hadn't done much cycling in the year past. However, we chose to bite off as much as everyone else and rode like crazy people on this tour. We felt we could do this because of the absolutely amazing support Ryan and his team of guides and drivers provide (Laurent and Kevin!!!!!!). Never once did I feel scared or feel as though I shouldn't at least start the rides. My husband is a machine and rode every ride and rocked them out. I rode most rides and though I've run a few marathons and race a bit here and there, I have never felt the elation I felt when I hit the top of the first tough mountain we rode on the tour. I will never forget the support the van team and the lovely Charlotte (and some of the spouse non-riders) provided us as we rode by them on some of the hairpin turns and switchbacks. We often felt as though we were actually part of the TdF. What an incredible feeling! All of the rides will remain in my mind's eye for many years to come. In fact, when I am riding on the trainer and need motivation to stay close to threshold on long, flat rides, I imagine the group of us coming down from the ride up to Col Du Soulor/D'Aubisque and riding in on the flats, along the greenway back to the hotel - riding hard and fast to get back to that glass of wine and to submerge our feet and legs in the very chilly stream!! Lastly, but no where least are the friendships we made on this tour. I will forever remember most the people we met. One of our biggest highlights (and trust me there were many) was walking around Bordeaux with a few others from the tour for the day. We didn't even sit on a bike that day but it was one of the best days my husband and I have ever enjoyed on vacation. The nine-day group got along very well and happily enjoyed each others' company. It's almost like Ryan hand-picked the group. Like I said before we laughed so hard and so often that our cheeks hurt. Many long-lasting friendships were born out of this tour - that's for sure. My husband and I have often been reluctant to consider a tour like this because we are worried about not having enough fun. As you can imagine this was far from a problem on this tour. In fact, we are already booked for another round with Ryan and his team. Hard to imagine a tour without he and his team - that's for sure. The Spyns' team works tirelessly to ensure their guests have a fabulous time - one to remember. It's evident in the number of returning guests we saw on the tour. And, we are excited to be joining Ryan and his team for another ride this year!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Pyrenees/Bordeaux/Paris 2014

Your Location

Calgary Alberta

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Terry Fuller on Jul 22, 2016

2014 TDF

We started in the Pyrenees and followed the tour into Paris. The bike riding was epic and made lots of new friends. I did travel with my own bike. Ryan and his crew did a remarkable job. My wife who is a non rider really enjoyed the other activities while we were out riding. Food was fantastic as well as the accommodations. I personally loved the town of Pierrefitte-Nestalas. I would definitely recommend Spyns and hope to do more tours with them.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Pyrenees to Paris

Your Location

Wash. DC

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Dana Armstrong on Jul 22, 2016

Unbelievable Vacation - Unbelievable Service!!

This review took me a while to write, simply because I was too full of emotion when I first returned to the states to even convey myself properly. I cannot say enough good things or use enough superlatives to accurately describe the Spyns company or our experience with Le Tour De France accurately. My husband is an avid cyclist, and I am....not, but I AM a huge fan of Le Tour. I did a lot of research prior to booking with Spyns and the biggest thing that attracted me was the unique "Rider/Non-Rider" aspect of the Spyns itinerary. Now that we've returned I can honestly say that neither of us had any more or less fun than the other, it was just spectacular all around. We did the 9 Day tour, and saw 5 stages, including the finish in Paris. Every day we were whisked away to another location, and upon arrival were presented with the most PERFECT vantage point for that day's stage that you could ask for. I was just blown away with the preparedness, and also the fact that it all seemed so effortless, despite the fact that I know it was probably anything but. The guides were SO fun, and seemed to be having just as good a time as we were. The food, the wine, the champagne, all plentiful and amazing. The rides were challenging and exhilarating for him, the non-rider activities for me were super exciting(including parapenting and white water rafting)! It was the trip of a lifetime and this will most certainly not be our only vacation with Spyns. We cannot thank them enough.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Pyrenees to Paris

Your Location

Chicago, IL USA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Ginny and Dave Read on Jul 22, 2016

Spyn TdF 9-day, 2014

This was our second TdF tour with Spyns. Even better the second time! The extra 2 days in the Pyrenees were a great addition. The on-road guides do a terrific job, which is not easy given the range of riders. The rides are fun, the climbing is a great satisfaction, and the non-rider activities are a blast. The special care with the race viewing spots - wow. (The march up the Hautacam, with Drill Instructor Ryan in the lead, was worth it!) The food, drink were a true moveable feast, and the accomodations were all you could want. Best of all were the people, ths Spyns folks and fellow guests. Just a great group to spend 9 days with!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Pyrenees/Bordeaux/Paris 2014

Your Location

Washington DC

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Greg Beer on Jul 22, 2016

Spyns - TdF and ride of a lifetime

I was on the 9 day tour. Had a front row seat to multiple Tour de France stages (flat, mountaintop, TT, finish in Paris) and some unforgettable bike rides (highlights were Col d'Aubisque and Col du Tourmalet). Accommodation was excellent, staying in little mountain villages as well as Bordeaux and central Paris. The meals - and the free-flowing wine - included in the package were much enjoyed. The Spyns team of guides was unfailingly courteous, efficient and warm. Worth every penny.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Pyrenees/Bordeaux/Paris

Your Location

Toronto, Canada

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Richard Koenig on Jul 22, 2016

TDF 2014

We did the SPYNS 7 day Tour de France trip and had a fantastic experience. Everything about the trip was wonderful from the hotels to the food to the guides to the race viewing locations to the smallest details. I cannot think of one thing that would have made the trip more enjoyable. I have traveled around the world and with many different outfitters and none were any better. Ryan and the crew were very attentive and unbelievably organized. They made the trip of a lifetime into the experience of a lifetime.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Michigan

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0