• 4.5 (13)

DuVine Cycling and Adventure Co.

Duvine Adventures is a leading bike tour company based in Somerville, MA. With a special focus on wine-centric tours, Duvine is a luxury travel brand with a strong reputation for customer service and knowledgeable guides. Tours typically include 5-star accommodations, the very top wineries, and Michelin-starred restaurants.
Company rating: 4 out of 5 with 13 reviews
DuVine Cycling and Adventure Co.

International Bike Tour Operators

Website: http://www.duvine.com/

COMPANY DETAILS

Phone: 888-396-5383

Location: USA AUSTRIA CROATIA CZECH REPUBLIC FRANCE IRELAND ITALY PORTUGAL SPAIN SWITZERLAND ARGENTINA SOUTH AFRICA ECUADOR AUSTRIA` JORDAN ISRAEL ITALY ITALY GALAPAGOS SWITZERLAND) SPAIN SPAIN SPAIN

Price: Luxury

Duvine Adventures is a leading bike tour company based in Somerville, MA. With a special focus on wine-centric tours, Duvine is a luxury travel brand with a strong reputation for customer service and knowledgeable guides. Tours typically include 5-star accommodations, the very top wineries, and Michelin-starred restaurants.


USER REVIEWS

Average user rating from: 13 users

Overall rating
4.5 (13)
Guide Quality
4.5 (13)
Hotel / Accommodations
4.5 (13)
Food
4.8 (13)
Bike Quality
4.4 (12)
Value
4.4 (12)
Customer Service
4.5 (13)
Guide Quality
Hotel / Accommodation
Food
Bike Quality
Value
Customer Service

REVIEWED BY Ann on Oct 11, 2016

DuVine

Most of my DuVine tours have been in Italy, and each and every one has been beyond fabulous! The guides are extremely knowledgeable of the history and culture in each area, and have special relationships and connections with local families and businesses which is difficult or impossible to find on other guided tours. They are also wonderful at identifying the abilities and preferences of everyone in the group and do an amazing job of making sure everyone has a trip of a lifetime. And the hotels, food and wine are truly spectacular. The entire DuVine team works very hard to deliver an adventure and experience to remember and treasure, and I cannot wait to book my next tour with them!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Tuscany

Your Location

St. Louis

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Andy on Oct 5, 2016

Dolomites Journey

This was my third DuVine tour and returning to "real life" has never been harder. It was an amazing and unforgettable journey. Fantastic riding - they planned and scouted the perfect routes. Fantastic tour companions - there's nothing like the camaraderie that forms when you conquer notorious mountain passes together and then bomb the descents afterward. Fantastic food and accommodations - We had chef Seamus Mullen along preparing healthy and delicious meals after he spent the day riding with us. Fantastic guides and support - It's a testament to how good the guides are that they made it seem so effortless and everything ran so smoothly. I know that couldn't have been easy given the size of the group that sometimes had to be split between multiple hotels and the fact that we were moving from town to town each day.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Italy

Your Location

USA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.5
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Richard Banfield on Oct 3, 2016

Chef on Wheels Dolomites (Italy)

It's hard to say just how much I loved this trip without sounding a little biased. This trip was the first of it's kind for Duvine, 7-days across the Dolomites, and from my perspective it was a huge success. The routes were cherry picked to have challenging but enjoyable rides and our guides were amazingly supportive and patient with us. Hotels were generally exceptional and the food was almost always 5-star. It's hard to think of anything that could be made better, except maybe my fitness ;)

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Italy

Your Location

Boston, MA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.5
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Harpoon B2B Rider on Jul 22, 2016

"Impeccable" Napa Valley Bike Trip

A verbal review input given to Bike Tour Buzz staff on the 2013 Harpoon B2B ride: The one word I would use to describe it would be "impeccable". The hotels, food and wine were incredible. 5 stars across the board.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Napa Valley, CA

Your Location

Windsor, VT

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Lenny on Jul 22, 2016

Amazing Family Trip

This was the best family vacation we have ever taken. From the moment we arrived, everything was taken care of. Our guides were outstanding, fun, and knowledgable! The bikes were like brand new and the routes / scenery was perfect. The hotels got progressively nicer as the trip went on (but they were all very nice!) and the food was outstanding. They did a very good job at accommodating the dietary restrictions of our family. Highly recommend. We are already planning where to go next year.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Tuscany

Your Location

Maine

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Beckwith on Jul 22, 2016

Chile Lakes and Volcanoes

This is the third Duvine trip for my husband and me. Our first two were in Italy, Tuscany and Piedmont. Those trips were everything you would expect: luxurious, romantic, challenging... perfect. This tour was different because we took our three teenage daughters. I was apprehensive because while my husband and I frequently road bike 20-30 miles, the girls hadn't biked AT ALL. Well, I needn't have worried! The trip was, to quote my 16yr old daughter, "absolutely the coolest thing that our family has ever done!" The hotels were lovely, the food spectacular and the guide was professional, knowledgable and charming. But the biking....OH WOW! Beautiful rolling hills, thrilling descents, long stretches of quiet back roads with no cars... in short, it was all perfect. Duvine always gets it right: the impeccable bike maintenance, the pre-trip planning and organizing, the ever-present van in case anyone gets tired or needs water, an energy bar or a piece of fruit. And then there are the guides. We have now had several and every one of them has been professional, intelligent, responsible well-informed, bi-lingual and a KILLER bike rider. For our money we will never ride with anyone but Duvine and we are currently planning our next trip for summer 2017.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Chile

Your Location

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY A. Scribe on Jul 22, 2016

Good eating, bad cycling

The food and accommodation were very good, but the bikes were poorly maintained (missing teeth on gear rings, derailleurs unable to reach lower gears, handle bars not on straight, brake cables that came completely out when used), and the guides were terrible (gave incorrect directions so everyone got lost at least once, rode so far ahead that most of the group only saw them at lunch, left one person at the side of the road with no bicycle or directions for several hours when someone else noticed they were missing). The head of the company, Andy, did respond to emails he was hostile to any criticism, dismissive of any safety or equipment concerns even when I sent photos of defective equipment, and deleted any negative comments from their discussion forum.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Spain

Your Location

Canada

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
2.4
Guide Quality
1.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer Service
1.0

REVIEWED BY James on Jul 22, 2016

Simply Amazing

My wife and I spent many hours comparing all the top bike tour companies and finally decided to take the plunge with DuVine. We had never done a bike tour, adventure tour, or any other type of tour before so we were really worried. The amazing staff at DuVine walked us through the entire process, our tour coordinator was always willing to help with planning and we felt so much better about our decision after just calling them and getting all the details. Once on tour our guides were like our best friends. So friendly, funny and knowledgable. We felt like we could really just enjoy our time and explore whatever we wanted to. We didn't want to be so stuck to an itinerary and the guide let us decide the route unlike some other companies we talked to where they had a strict schedule. It helped that the trip only had a total of 10 people. We REALLY didn't want to be in a huge tourist group of all types of people. DuVine was more expensive than a couple other tours we looked at, but we think they were worth every penny. Luxurious hotels, the best meals of my life and local experiences I don't think I would have EVER thought of exploring if it weren't for DuVine.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Croatia

Your Location

Austin, TX

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
4.0

REVIEWED BY NE Rider on Jul 22, 2016

Not the right fit

We were not fans of DuVine. Pompous leader. Seemed like they didn't know what they were doing. Leaders partied with each other rather than consistently seeing to our needs. Expensive. Only plus was the good food.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Burgundy

Your Location

New England

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
3.6
Guide Quality
2.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer Service
3.0

REVIEWED BY Ted Chan on Jul 22, 2016

Great wine-centric Tuscany bike tour

I was extremely satisfied with our Duvine Tuscany tour. The highlight was our tour guides. David, Ron, and Tom were just incredibly knowledgeable and catered to our every whim. Tom was not only knowledgeable, but a passionate expert of Italian history, more like a PhD student several years in than a tour guide. Every meal was delicious, especially the one at La Chiusa (Michelin starred). We were able to go in the kitchen and even make the pasta. On the whole tour, the level of access with chefs and winemakers was impressive. I had a great bike, a nice aluminum Giant Road Bike. It was well-serviced and probably not more than a few months old. There were some minor issues at the first hotel we stayed at. It just seemed like the room hadn't been used in awhile. We raised this and they said it would be immediately addressed.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Tuscany, Italy

Your Location

United States

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Happy Rider on Jul 22, 2016

Bordeaux in Style

Our Duvine tour of Bordeaux was sparkling! Food was just outstanding. There was the grand Michelin starred restaurant but actually this wasn't even the best one. The accommodations were world class. Huge rooms at Relais and Chateaux hotels. The riding in Bordeaux is great, past all the great vineyards in the Medoc and St. Emilion. Extra rides. Extremely well planned to minimize traffic. Best part was the guides. Really professional, knowledgeable and super helpful. Not to mention, Didier, the local guide was hilarious. This was our second Duvine tour and we hope to be back for many more!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Bordeaux, France

Your Location

Sydney, Australia

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Amy Cole on Jul 22, 2016

Tuscany Biking

We loved, loved, loved our first Duvine trip. The Tuscany itinerary was a winner on so many levels. Our guides were fun, knowledgeable and couldn't do enough to meet our needs, in spite of the large size of our group. Food was outstanding, wine superb. Although the hotels were a tad weak, it never detracted from the experience. I gave the low bike rating because I requested a road bike, when in fact I should've requested a hybrid. Unable to get a replacement, I had to use one of the guide's, which was too big. So, my fault, but I was surprised they were unable to produce one to fit me within a day or so. Guess it doesn't work that way!!!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Tuscany

Your Location

Connecticut

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.4
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Victoria S. on Jul 22, 2016

Amazing Tuscany!

Amazing! I want to do it all over again. This was by far the best part of our honeymoon! Thank you Tom, Ron, David and DuVine!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Tuscany

Your Location

Cambridge, MA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
N/A
Customer Service
5.0