• 4.9 (12)

Discovery Bicycle Tours

Discovery Bicycle Tours is the former Bike Vermont, and has a strong reputation as a cycling vacation provider in the US and globally.
Company rating: 5 out of 5 with 12 reviews
Discovery Bicycle Tours

International Bike Tour Operators

Website: http://discoverybicycletours.com/

COMPANY DETAILS

Phone:

Location: CANADA ITALY SPAIN USA

Price:

Discovery Bicycle Tours is the former Bike Vermont, and has a strong reputation as a cycling vacation provider in the US and globally.


USER REVIEWS

Average user rating from: 12 users

Overall rating
4.9 (12)
Guide Quality
5.0 (12)
Hotel / Accommodations
4.8 (12)
Food
4.8 (12)
Bike Quality
4.8 (11)
Value
4.8 (12)
Customer Service
5.0 (12)
Guide Quality
Hotel / Accommodation
Food
Bike Quality
Value
Customer Service

REVIEWED BY Cycling Gal on Jul 22, 2016

Wonderful Ireland

We biked the West Coast of Ireland with Bike Vermont, which is now Discovery. This was an awesome trip. Amazing scenery. 5-star value. We had amazing guides who really knew local culture. The ride maps were very well done and flawless. The group had great dynamics. Hotels were really well located, always right in town. Maybe not as nice as other tours but we were out and about most of the time anyhow. Meals were fine though not amazing, we got to try a lot of things, and there were plenty of people in the group who wanted to have a pint.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Ireland

Your Location

USA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.5
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Helen Whitley on Jul 22, 2016

Discovery Bike Tours - Eastern Shore of Maryland

This is a 5 night tour along Maryland's eastern shore. The terrain is very level, although some days we did have a bit of a head wind, which is to be expected when you're near the coast. The guides were great fun and extremely competent. The 2 inns were fabulous - GREAT food and wonderful accomodations. I can't exaggerate how good the food was. The biking routes were very scenic. There was some riding on busier roads than I like, but there were 8' shoulders on those roads. One morning we had the van drive us the first few miles so that our riding for that day started on rural roads. I've biked many times over the past 20 years with Discovery (formerly Bike Vermont) and never been disappointed in a tour. It's money well spent and a great value I think.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Eastern Shore of Maryland

Your Location

Gainesville, Fl

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Gators'R'Us on Jul 22, 2016

Chesapeake Bay Tour

It was a 5-night tour, 3 nights in St. Michaels, MD, and 2 nights in Easton, MD. Comments: We were a smallish group and our two tour leaders, Meg and Bill, are ones I'd had before so that was a good surprise. I always love how much the leaders extend themselves to make sure we have a good trip. They are so good at communicating, keeping an eye on us when we wander, making sure we're safe, comfortable and well fed. This time Bill even made two short films for us of our trip, one in general and one that's just Bill and me. The Bartlett Pear Inn was just heaven and Chef Jordan's food was really out of this world. St Michaels Harbour Inn was wonderful, too, and certainly the location could not have been better. Our group was so harmonious; we really enjoyed each other's company. We were lucky on the weather, too. The ride through the Wildlife Refuge was an especial treat. Improvements? How could there be anything better than a ride like this. Bicycle rental included in the trip cost! No hills! Good weather! Beautiful countryside! Enough crabcakes, steamed crabs, and softshell crabs to see me for the next year.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Chesapeake Bay area

Your Location

Florida

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Chuck Shom on Jul 22, 2016

Maryland Eastern Shore Bicycle Adventure

The terrain was extremely flat, but it was not boring. It was interspersed by views of placid bays and bucolic farms. The riding support was excellent as was the leader knowledge. They "knew the territory." Great food and well arranged logistics.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

EAstern Shore Maryland

Your Location

Denver CO

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Suzanne on Jul 22, 2016

Chestertown, Maryland - Brampton Inn B&B

Overall the trip was excellent. The tour guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The Inn was beautiful and clean. Even the weather was perfect - though I doubt they have much control over this :) Going out to eat on Saturday was nice; however having dinner at 8:00 was a little late for me personally (I was ready to fall asleep when everyone was eating dessert). I did enjoy getting to choose what to eat, but on the other hand, it would have been nicer to stay at the Inn for dinner. This was my 2nd trip with this company and I would definitely tour with them again.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Chestertown, Maryland

Your Location

United States

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.7
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Alan on Jul 22, 2016

Eastern Shore of Maryland - bike trip

The trip was great. I have taken many trips with Discovery(formerly Bike Vermont) and I believe this was the best. The Bartlett Pear Inn put on the best meal I think I have ever had in a restaurant, and they had a bartender/mixologist to match. Try the Silver Lining! It was a 5 day trip and every day was different. The maps and directions easy to use, the terrain fairly level- not flat, but level, and even though we were there in mid-May the weather was not too warm. The price of the tour includes bike rental so all you have to do is show up and get on. The tour guides were the best. I highly, highly, highly recommend Discovery Bike Tours, and this trip in particular.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Eastern Shore of Maryland

Your Location

Florida

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Mark on Jul 22, 2016

Maryland Eastern Shore Bike Tour

I did this tour later than the reviewers below, and agree with everything they said (except for which drink to have at the Bartlett Pear since I did not have the same one). The two leaders, Meg and Bill were outstanding and typical of those I have had on ten Bike Vermont/Discovery Bicycle Tour trips. I brought my own bike as did all but one other in the group, so I can't judge the quality of the ones they supply. The Harbor Inn in St. Michael's is right on the water, has large well appointed rooms, and it is in walking distance of most everything in that small town. The Bartlett Pear Inn is in the heart of Easton, so many of its attractions, including a small art museum (free on Wednesday) on the next block, are a short walk away. Four dinners (one night on our own) were included, and the restaurants chosen were different and a lot of fun. It was definitely a "bike so we can eat" tour. The tour won't be done again until next year, so it may not be exactly the same. If you are looking for a late spring adventure with relatively easy riding, this one will be a great choice.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Eastern Shore of Maryland

Your Location

Arlington, VA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Tricia on Jul 22, 2016

Tuscany

This was a great tour. Tuscany is hilly but we were glad we worked hard on our bikes when we got to dinner each night! The group meals were selected so we could try the different foods of the regions of Tuscany. And the food was exceptional everywhere. Rosita - the main tour guide - clearly has selected the hotels and the menus with care and thought. The hotels were really comfortable as well. The extras on this trip are also wonderful - the vineyards and wine tasting, the Gregorian monks in an abbey from the 1300's. It was well run, no pressure, great support from both Rosita and Damiano, a great trip. If your return schedule is tight, I would caution at flying from Florence - the wind can make leaving a little unreliable.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Tuscany

Your Location

Vermont

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
N/A
Guide Quality
N/A
Hotel / Accommodations
N/A
Food
N/A
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
N/A
Customer Service
N/A

REVIEWED BY Tyler Strawinski on Jul 22, 2016

October Inn Vermot

My two girlfriends and I went on the Discovery October Inn Vermont Bike Tour last weekend (June 29-30). While one of us had some biking tour experience I, on the other hand, had not biked more than 6 miles in my life. It couldn't have been more wonderful. There were options of going on an easier or intermediate ride. Both of the groups met up at lunch and road through the most beautiful countryside you could imagine. I did ride the intermediate section and, although I found the hills hard, I made it and the long downhill made it all worthwhile. Think covered bridges, lazy fields of sheep and cattle, beautiful wildflowers and charming little towns. The Discovery Tour bike leaders were wonderful and stressed safety. Between the sweeper in the back on a bike and the van which traveled back and forth in the group we always felt safe and well cared for. The equipment was first class and I even got a good fitting of my bike helmet out of the trip. I would recommend this trip highly.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

october Inn Vermont

Your Location

Alpharetta, GA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Michael Slavin on Jul 22, 2016

After having taken so many tours with this company, after so many years, I have run out of superlatives to describe how wonderful the company, the routes, and the tour leaders are. I look forward to returning every summer.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Lake Champlain

Your Location

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Renee Roncone on Jul 22, 2016

Ireland Tour 2013

One week bicycle tour of Western Ireland. Could not have asked for better tour guides. They worked well together, kept track of all bikers, even provided us with traditional Irish and Scottish folk music at night (one of the guides was a musician). The hotel rooms were HUGE! No one felt belittled if they needed to get in the van and ride for awhile. The riding was not hard, but you got a good workout each day. Had a couple free nights to go out on your own which was fun. But, in reality, I think it is impossible to go to Ireland and NOT have fun. That is a very friendly country. Had to stop and let sheep cross the road from time to time and, of course, we had to feed apples from the van cooler to the donkeys too.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Ireland

Your Location

West Ireland

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.6
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Stanley Piorun on Jul 22, 2016

West Ireland

I didnt expect to see such amazing countryside, it took my breath away. Everything was expertly handled: the hotels, the food, the bike routes, the bikes, the support van, the places of interest. It didn't matter how strong a biker you were, they accomodated everyone's needs and they made sure I got the most out of my time there. When the tour ended, I was hungry for another. I knew I would have fun because I badly needed a vaction but I didn't expect such a memorable experience.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

west ireland

Your Location

Connecticut USA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Kristal on Jul 22, 2016

Always wonderful

Just completed my 7th Discovery Bike tour. I have taken 2 longer tours with my husband (Maine and Lake Champlain) and 5 weekend tours with girlfriends. Each trip has been wonderful from the leaders to the food. This is my second trip to the Shoreham Inn for a weekend trip. The innkeepers, Molly and Dominique, are gracious hosts, and Dominique's dinners and breakfasts are excellent. The historic inn, circa 1790, is quaint and charming, though updated to afford guests with comfortable lodging. Discovery Bike leaders are always awesome! Knowledgeable of the area in which you are cycling and ready to lend a hand if needed, or make suggestions for sites to see. I have enjoyed meeting many wonderful folks on Discovery (formerly Bike Vermont) tours.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Shoreham, Vermont

Your Location

Kalamazoo, MI

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0