• 3.5 (17)

Custom Getaways

Custom Getaways is a Tour Operator specializing in sporting trips in general, with cycling trips in particular a focus.    Custom Getaways are Official Tour Operators, appointed by the race organizers themselves for races such as The Tour de France,  Etapes du Tour, Paris-Roubaix Challenge, La Marmotte, and many more premier organizations.
Company rating: 3 out of 5 with 17 reviews
Custom Getaways

International Bike Tour Operators

Website:

COMPANY DETAILS

Phone:

Location:

Price:

Custom Getaways is a Tour Operator specializing in sporting trips in general, with cycling trips in particular a focus. 

 
Custom Getaways are Official Tour Operators, appointed by the race organizers themselves for races such as The Tour de France,  Etapes du Tour, Paris-Roubaix Challenge, La Marmotte, and many more premier organizations.


USER REVIEWS

Average user rating from: 17 users

Overall rating
3.5 (17)
Guide Quality
4.1 (17)
Hotel / Accommodations
4.6 (5)
Food
3.8 (17)
Bike Quality
N/A (0)
Value
4.0 (17)
Customer Service
4.1 (17)
Guide Quality
Hotel / Accommodation
Food
Bike Quality
Value
Customer Service

REVIEWED BY Colin Wilson on Aug 31, 2019

Tour of 2019

I decided to do the final week Les Alpes VIP tour Tour de France 2019 with Vince & Angie at Custom Getaways and I'm so glad I did. I live in France but , wanted to get the best experience possible . Gilles , Nathalie & Austin our guides were fantastic , they could not have been more friendlier , knowledgeable and in particular about what the agenda was for the next day . Michel was our fantastic driver and always welcomed us on the bus in the morning and was always friendly with everyone. The organizing of each day was fantastic , we all knew what to expect on each stage , walk a long way on the flat or you will be walking uphill for however many meters etc. etc. We always walked at a pace that everyone could walk and lost no one. We had great viewing locations through the week as well as being advised to go here or there for the best camera shots. I went on my own on the tour, I met a lot of great people and was never on my own unless I was taking photos further up a road etc. I cannot recommend Custom Getaways highly enough and if possible in 2020 I will link up with them again, this time in the Pyranees . Many Many thanks to you all for making this trip so much more than I imagined it could be . Memories for a life time

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

France

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Joe Bettendorf on Sep 13, 2018

Tour de France

Great trip to the Pyrenees. The accommodated us by offering a shortened itinerary to fit our schedule and were also very accommodating as we brought our 1-yr Old daughter. VIP set ups were great at the viewing areas. Riding was fantastic. Definitely going again.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Minnesota

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Karen on Sep 10, 2018

Trip of a Lifetime

Vince, Angie and the guides all did a fabulous job of making our Final Week Tour de France trip fun and memorable. Of note, our guide Gilles was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and took exceptional personal care of all of us throughout the trip. He, with the help of a talented bus driver, got us to locations we never thought possible. The organization of the tour was impeccable and flawless. They catered to everyone's individual needs willingly and in a caring fashion. We are still reminiscing about the trip and keep in touch with the great people we met. We will definitely tour with Custom Getaways in the future. Rest assured that they will make informed travel decisions on your behalf and take you safely on a unique journey filled with memories that you will cherish for years to come.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Canada

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Megan Sullivan on Jul 30, 2018

Truly Amazing

This was truly the trip/tour of a lifetime. I can't say enough nice things about how every detail was covered, the personal attention and our amazing guide who could not have been more helpful. We had an odd mix of people with 3 small kids, two adults and one senior, but everything was perfect for our unique group, from food to hotel. We did not do biking on this tour, but if we choose to do it again, I know who I will use. The access this tour gives is remarkable, and the inside knowledge our guide shared was so fun. Our family has never done a trip like this and we put a lot of faith in Custom Getaways. They far exceeded any expectations or hopes we had.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Arlington, VA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Tiffany on Jul 25, 2018

Tour de France: Alps & Alpe d'Huez (Non-Cycling)

Bonjour! I have just returned home to Canada from a fabulous Tour de France experience with Custom Getaways: the five-day non-cycling Alps & Alpe d'Huez tour. This was a VIP tour, with access to the Relais Etape in Bonneville for Stage 10, Espace Iozard in La Rosiere for Stage 11, a private chalet on the Alpe d'Huez for Stage 12, and the Start Village and Team Paddock in Bourg d'Oisans for Stage 13. This trip was worth every penny. The highlights: --- Our guide, Gilles: he was incredibly knowledgeable, personable and took very good care of all of us. Gilles set us up every morning and evening with all of the information we needed and he always had time for our many questions (about Le Tour, the riders, our routes, our host cities, France's history and even his life!) --- Our Itinerary and Bus Routes: the Custom Getaways itinerary was well planned. The locations of our hotels and the routes we took each day were efficient and smooth. The timing of our departures and arrival each day felt appropriate for the days' activities. --- Our VIP experience: we were blown away by the access we received with our package. The VIP areas were well-located, premium, beautiful and felt appropriate for the tour cost. We got to meet soooo many riders! And free-flowing beer and rosé while watching Le Tour is always a nice time. --- Our Driver, Pierre: our delightful bus driver, Pierre, is one of the most talented bus drivers I have ever experienced. And when you're driving up the Alpe d'Huez, you don't want a first timer on your hands! --- Other Surprise-and-Delights: receiving the Official Roadbook and other official Tour de France merch, being gifted extra caravan swag, and most importantly: getting ON THE PODIUM STAGE for photos at the finish in Alpe d'Huez. Once in a lifetime. The lowlights: --- First Night Dinner in Chambery: for convenience after a long day of travel for most people, we had our first dinner across the street from our hotel at a restaurant that was totally acceptable, but not an authentic French experience. Easy to change for coming tours. --- Travelling with Other Groups: on the last two days, we shared a bus with another Custom Getaways group. We were happy to be with them - but they weren't a part of the VIP experience and it made for very awkward bus announcements. It left our group feeling icky and sad that they couldn't be a part of it with us! --- Custom Getaways T-Shirt: we were gifted a Custom Getaways t-shirt which was a lovely gesture. The only problem was that it was a heavy cotton material in dark navy. In 30+ degree heat on the side of the Alps, it was just too hot to wear! Vince and Angie, the owners of Custom Getaways, are lovely human beings. They are in France for the entire Tour, ensuring that their guests are being taken care of. The first question Vince asked when I met him was "What can we be doing better?" They really care. If you do choose Custom Getaways for your cycling adventure, I know you will have an incredible time. I've attended many major sporting events in my life and this one was one of the highlights, thanks to Custom Getaways. Allez and vive Le Tour de France! tiffany

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Vancouver

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.6
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY AMY OHARA on Jul 24, 2018

AMAZING EXPERIENCE!

I booked a one day tour for the Tour de France (as a spectator and fan) and WHAT AN EXPERIENCE! The staff was in regular communication with me prior to the trip, gave great guidance as to where to stay, etc. and everything went off without a hitch! There were a LOT of moving parts to pulling this off and they did not disappoint. It was far beyond our expectations and was nothing short of thrilling! This was a special gift for my husband and I guarantee he considers it one of the best days of his life.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

WA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
N/A
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Eric on Sep 25, 2017

Fantastic Experience

We had an amazing time on the final three days of this year's Tour de France. Vince and Angie were really really helpful with advice and ideas as we were deciding what package(s) we wanted to do for the tour. It never felt like we were being sold something, they genuinely wanted us to get the best out of our trip, including arranging the hotels, outside of the package, so that we could spend time both before and after we were on the tour. It made our arrangements super convenient. Our group was about 14 people and Nathalie, our guide, was fantastic. She was savvy enough to get us off the bus when we were getting conflicting reports from security, and walk us into our spots on the route. She made sure we were organized, kept an eye on us, and generally made sure we were well taken care of. To and from our bus, onto the train, into Paris and safely to our hotel, she was patient, pleasant and communicative the entire time. Members of our group had different packages for the last day, so we were not with Nathalie on the the Champs Elysee, and increased security made it almost impossible to find out how to get to our viewing area. At one of the checkpoints we ran into 2 other CG guides who we had sort of met on the previous stage and they helped us get through security and to where we needed to be. To me that speaks to a caring company run and managed by good people. We are experienced travelers who don't book tours, so we weren't sure what to expect, but the Custom Getaway crew, from start to finish, made everything incredibly easy for us. We had an amazing time and while we were excited for the race, the CG crew made the whole experience that much better. We'll be back.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Washington, DC

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Lauren on May 10, 2017

Well Rounded Tour

We had a wonderful time on our non cycling tour of Sardinia, Italy and the first three stages of the Tour d'Italia. Our days were filled with seeing the beautiful island and watching the race from the exclusive VIP tents. Our guide was attentive, knowledgeable and flexible to the needs of our group. It was an amazing vacation we won't soon forget.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Italy

Your Location

Canada

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.7
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Ron Mattiussi on May 9, 2017

Amazing Experience

We just got home from a great experience watching the 100th Giro d' Italia stages in Sardinia. Custom Getaway Tours were great. This was a non-cycle tour and a nice balance of VIP treatment at Giro events and a few great social/tour activities exploring the Island. At the events we received royal treatment, meeting cyclists up close and having access to great locations for terrific photos. The hotels were excellent by European standards and even spacious. The meals provided were also very good. Our Guide Stefano an former professional cyclist was very knowledgeable and always attentive to the groups needs. if I ever do another Tour I would go with Custom Getaways.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Sardinia

Your Location

Canada

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
5.0
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Judy Brandt on Jul 22, 2016

Never, ever use this company

Short non-cycling VIP Tour. Did not deliver as promised, guide charming but incompetent. Hotel location in Grenoble terrible, and no reason to circle back to Grenoble prior to Annecy. Spend much time following tour guide who wandered around asking people in town where the location was of whatever we were supposed to see. Just terrible.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

tour de France

Your Location

USA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
1.4
Guide Quality
1.0
Hotel / Accommodations
3.0
Food
1.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
1.0
Customer Service
1.0

REVIEWED BY Floridian on Jul 22, 2016

Etapes

I've done 3 etapes with Custom Getaways and felt they were first class. Great job all around. Good people and good organization.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Pompano Beach, FL

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.4
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY French groupie on Jul 22, 2016

Trip of a lifetime... Again

Had taken a first trip of a lifetime to the Tour de France. Enjoyed it so much that we came back for another trip; equally as good. From the booking process on through the trip the experience was first class. We're already contemplating our next trip!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

USA

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.5
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Gregory on Jul 22, 2016

Custom Getaways was the worst part of the trip

Short non-cycling VIP Tour (same as reviewer Judy Brandt); simply put the custom getaways package offered almost zero value and the tour group census was that we’d been better off hiring a car and going self-supported. We were herded around by a lost and unenthusiastic guide on a huge tour bus. Their website advertises that they have the best route access… but were stuck parking the bus and walking huge distances to get to some non-private viewing area where we were left trying to squeeze into areas where people had arrived early and gotten good spots. Some details/ VIP access advertised in our paid for package didn’t happen; when questioned…CG simply said that they were typo’s in the brochure and nothing was done. Simply said…the tours seemed overpriced, over booked, understaffed and poorly planned. You could tell they just showed up and tried to fake their way through it…all the way to the bank!!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Dubai

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
1.2
Guide Quality
1.0
Hotel / Accommodations
2.0
Food
1.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
1.0
Customer Service
1.0

REVIEWED BY Janine Dymond on Jul 22, 2016

Richmond World Championships-

REVIEW

Location of Tour

Richmond, Virginia

Your Location

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
1.9
Guide Quality
1.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
2.0
Bike Quality
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer Service
1.0

REVIEWED BY rj on Jul 22, 2016

A great Etape du Tour trip

Many thanks to Custom Getaways for arranging an excellent trip not only for me but the family too. Chateau was fantastic. Much credit must go to Custom Getaways' staff whose bike and local knowledge meant that family managed to see me at about 5 diff locations including the finish plus some riding during the waits. Looking forward to 2016.

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France

Your Location

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.8
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
5.0
Food
4.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0

REVIEWED BY Olivier Gers on Jul 22, 2016

Won't use them ever again...

Really disappointed to write how bad the CG service this past weekend for the Etape was. I was looking forward to great time and great premium service (price surely was) from GC for the Etape du Tour I was riding with friends in France. But it seems that their favorite (and only) answer to any request was "NO". - Help me please with my bike not making it on the flight - "NO" - Get me coffee please at the private feed station as it will be pouring and cold on the course - "NO" - Can we switch restaurants for dinners please as the one we ate at the first night was bad and we realised without being told beforehand we would have dinner there every night - "NO" - And the best one (didn't happen to me, but to a friend), can I have a bit more water in my bottle for the rest of the race - "NO" Well guess what my answer will be if someone asks me to go on a Custom Gateways tour again...

REVIEW

Location of Tour

France - Etape du Tour

Your Location

Pau

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
1.7
Guide Quality
1.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
1.0
Bike Quality
N/A
Value
1.0
Customer Service
1.0

REVIEWED BY Tom on Jul 22, 2016

GOING BACK AGAIN

I'm delighted to be heading back to the Tour with Custom Getaways. I too have taken a non-cycling trip with them and have been a bit surprised by previous posts as I've never experienced anything similar. Rather the guides have all been not just knowledgeable, but very personable and have been genuinely concerned with the well being of everyone. There were times when several groups came together and my opinion seemed to be that of everyone I interacted with. Point is; I've been delighted and happy to be going back in 2014!

REVIEW

Location of Tour

FRANCE

Your Location

Was this review helpful to you?

Overall rating
4.6
Guide Quality
5.0
Hotel / Accommodations
4.0
Food
5.0
Bike Quality
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer Service
5.0